Designed by Messrs Taliesin Rees, & Holt and opened for Provincial Cinematograph Theatres in April 1922. The Gaumont opened up as The Trocadero, and was a particularly lavish and unusual cinema. Either side of the proscenium arch were an additional stage(s), about half the width of the main stage, on which beautiful scenes were created and were illuminated during the intervals.
There was a single balcony and a particularly wide barrel vaulted ceiling. Elegantly restrained plasterwork decorated the balcony front, the ceiling and walls.,
In 1950 the cinema was taken over by and renamed Gaumont. The unique three stages disappeared in 1954 when Cinemascope was installed.
(above: 2 x Gaumont Kalee 21 35mm projectors installed at the Gaumont)
However after Gaumont were taken over by Rank (Odeon), the importance of this venue diminished and later when the Odeon was twinned then quadrupled. The Gaumont closed in May 1974. Eventually it was demolished.
You can still walk on the footprint and pick up marble stones laying on the ground
(Gaumont staff member circa 1966)